fitmommy

Shannon's health and fitness blog

The Japanese Purple Sweet Potato

It’s 6:30am, I’ve been up for two hours and still feel like I’m slumbering after only 4 hours of sleep.  That’s when my client gets my attention by telling me about this wonderful restaurant she went to called Jar and how great the food was, especially the Japanese purple sweet potatoes.  Up to this point, I had never heard of this interesting vegetable and made a mental note to myself to reasearch it.  Four clients later, I am hearing almost the same story from someone else, and again the subject is the delicious Japanese purple sweet potato.   By now I’ve decided that the Universe is telling me that I MUST find out what is so wonderful about this new (to me) food.  This is what I found:

The Japanese purple sweet potato is a richly nutritious food.  They are fat free, only 140 calories per cup , and have 4 grams of fiber.  This little sweet potato is also rich in Vitamin B and C, calcium, iron, magnesium, potassium, zinc, copper, manganese, and selenium.  It has been used medicinally in Japan for treating diabetes.  It’s low glycemic index makes it an ideal carbohydrate for carbohydrate-sensitive people and diabetics.  The Japanese purple sweet potato is also very high in antioxidants.   Antioxidants help prevent cardiovascular disease and cancer, boost immunity, and are anti-inflammatory.  The most powerful antioxidants are phytochemicals.  Anthocyanins are the phytochemical that gives this sweet potato its rich purple color.  Studies have shown that this purple sweet potato has 150% more anthocyanin than blueberries!

Apparently, the Japanese purple sweet potatoes natural sweetness makes them a perfect ingredient for any type of dish.  You can bake, boil, fry (like french fries), roast or microwave them and they are used in entrees, side dishes, or desserts.

Now all I have to do is find them….

November 24, 2009 - Posted by | Food

2 Comments »

  1. I had to comment for this info from the future (it says Nov 24th & today is still the 23rd!) 🙂
    Yes, there is something special about the purple foods… sweet potatoes, purple corn of Peru. But please do not encourage others to microwave anything, unless they are trying to kill it… haha

    I like forward to reading your blogs… it is good to clear our minds and spread that part which is useful to others. Insights & “outsights” will only make us the wiser!

    Comment by alain | November 24, 2009 | Reply

  2. love!! love!! love your blog! it’s about time you joined the blogging community.
    love, katie

    Comment by Irene | November 25, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

