fitmommy

Shannon's health and fitness blog

Chiropractic for your health

Tony FedorykI know what you’re thinking.  “I’ve heard chiropractors are wacko (dangerous, quacks, etc I heard it all)”  I will tell you that there are many chiropractors out there who give the profession a bad name.  However, chiropractic has been the best thing I ever did to maintain the health of my body, not just my spine. 

19 years ago I had neck surgery for a herniated disk.  I was 21 and they told me I had the neck of a 60 year old.  How did this happen?  Growing up I had quite a bit of trauma to my neck-car accident with no seat belt, 2 falls on my chin resulting in stitches and chipped bones, and flying over the head of my horse, head first, at a full canter to name just a few.  However, it wasn’t until I worked in a grocery store during my college years that the pain began.  Most of my work hours were spent lifting heavy objects that were so large and awkward that there was no way to use proper body mechanics.  Eventually a disc was herniated and I was in severe pain.  If I knew then what I know now, I would never have gone through with the surgery.  But I didn’t , so under the knife I went.  The pressure was taken off the nerve, but neck pain became a permanent part of my life.  I went to a few different physical therapists and, finally, one of them told me that I needed to be adjusted by a chiropractor.  She said that she couldn’t even stretch me because there was so much scar tissue that it was being used as a fulcrum.  At the time, I worked for a chiropractor but was scared to let him come any where near my neck.  Finally, I gave in and let him adjust me.  I couldn’t believe how much better I felt!  From that point on, I have used chiropractic to maintain the health of my spine, as well as other joints in my body. 

What Chiropractors Do

Chiropractors are primarily concerned with locating and treating vertebral subluxations (misalignment of one or more vertebrae in the spinal column).  Using a number of highly refined methods, the chiropractor checks the patient’s spine for any misalignments or any other abnormalities.  If subluxations or other abnormalities are detected, the chiropractor will generally apply a gentle force to correct the alignment in the affected spinal area.

The Benefits of Chiropractic

  • spinal and extremity pain relief
  • headache relief
  • increased mobility and range of motion
  • decreased stiffness and muscular spasms
  • arthritic joint pain relief
  • increased joint health
  • increased performance and energy
  • increased sense of well being and relaxation
  • increased balance and coordination
  • reduced degeneration and risk of injury
  • enhanced tissue healing
  • decreased tissue inflammation

 

Yes, I believe you have to be careful who you let adjust your body, but there are good chiropractors out there.  I have been using chiropractic for 15 years and have had a few good ones and a few bad ones.  I have been lucky enough to find Dr.  Tony Fedoryk, by far the best chiropractor I have ever been to.  He is the first chiropractor to effectively adjust me and send me home feeling amazing without causing me pain to get there.  He is  the first that seems to tailor the treatment to meet my needs, not just a one size fits all approach.  He even adjusts dogs!  He also takes most insurance plans. Tony has been kind enough to offer fitmommy followers, who may not be covered for chiropractic under their insurance, a special rate for an initial consultation and adjustment.  Just click on the link above, print the coupon and present it at your first visit.

December 31, 2009 - Posted by | Health

1 Comment »

  1. I too injured myself when I was 12, but didn’t start to feel the effects until 19 or 20. The doctor asked me to touch my toes, and when I could, he said I was fine and gave me a prescription for pain killers. It wasn’t until I was 23 and couldn’t walk that I finally went to a chiropractor. It took close to a year to correct all the damage to my spine, but it was worth every minute. That was 36 years ago. I lead a healthy, active and pain-free life due to the initial treatments from my chiropractor and from the periodic maintenance adjustments that I get a few times each year. I also have had 4 chiropractors in my life, and have found that Tony Fedoryk is by far the most skilled and competent one that has given me adjustments. Some chiropractors are just too tentative in their adjustments. I prefer Dr. Tony’s method of confident manipulation, whose effects lasts much longer than others. It also doesn’t hurt that he has a truly warm and generous nature and actually cares about each of his patient’s well being.

    Comment by Deborah Scharf | December 31, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

