fitmommy

Shannon's health and fitness blog

The Taco Bell Diet

When I saw this I just had to laugh!  Anyone who doesn’t know that fast food will take you to your grave so much quicker has been living under a rock.  Now they are trying to tell people they will lose weight off their menu?  I know they need to bring in more people (money) with this lagging economy.  Still, I had to check out their strategy.  Their Fresco Menu has about eight or nine items, consisting of burritos and tacos.  The website lists the Fresco Menu Nutrition Guide.  Surprisingly, the items are low calorie and low fat.  Not surprisingly, they are also very high in sodium.  For those who already frequent the fast food restaurants, these items would definitely be a healthier choice than anything else on the menu, as long as you don’t get anything else!  For those of us who avoid these joints like the plague, we will continue to do so, thank you very much!

Which leads me to mention that, oh so famous, documentary Super Size Me.  If you haven’t seen it, I’m sure you’ve heard of it.  It is a real eye opener, even for myself who believes eating fast food is equivalent to eating poison.  Halfway through this movie, my nine year old daughter hugged me and thanked me for never allowing her to eat that garbage.  For your viewing pleasure, follow the link to watch the full movie for free!

January 22, 2010 - Posted by | Food

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

