fitmommy

Shannon's health and fitness blog

Going to the Doctor

Well, I finally gave in and went to the doctor.  For me, that’s a big deal.  I’m not a real fan of western medicine.  Don’t get me wrong, I believe it has its place.  I go twice a year, once to the internist for a new inhaler prescription and once to the gynecologist (Although, if he looked like this guy, I think I’d pretend to be sick quite often 🙂 )  Like I said before, western medicine is reactive, not proactive.  Besides, in the last 4+ years, there hasn’t been anything my acupuncturist hasn’t been able to knock down.  Why go to the doctor when I can have an hour of rest and take herbs that don’t have all the nasty side effects that prescription drugs do?  These days, the acupuncturist is a lot less expensive too!

This time was different though.  I don’t know why, but nothing Payam did could fix this nasty cough.  So I finally want to my internist, Dr. Yu.  Now I’m on a bunch of meds that make me feel like crap-antibiotics, prednasone, and a new inhaler.  Oh yay!  All Dr. Yu could say was, “We wouldn’t be at this point if you just used your inhaler!”  Now I know what you’re thinking-why won’t I use it if I am such a health fanatic?  Because my last doctor wanted me off this inhaler.  He told me that it didn’t matter how many weights I lifted, it would yank the calcium right out of my bones.  I knew these words would be lost on deaf ears.  So I suppressed my rebellious, “I’ll do what I want” attitiude, and kept my mouth shut.  After all, I hadn’t worked out in 12 days.  I just want my life back so I’ll do what I’m told for once!

February 17, 2010 - Posted by | Health

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

