fitmommy

Shannon's health and fitness blog

The best supplement I’ve ever taken

I am often asked about vitamins.  Everyone wants to know what is the best vitamin to take, is this or that really important?  The best answer I can give is Juice Plus+.  I have taken Juice Plus+ for years, even before I became a mom.  I was introduced to it in 1998 when I was a competitive athlete and became quite impressed with the results. Not only did my run times  get faster and faster, but I dropped an entire pant size.  Mind you, I wasn’t trying to lose weight, so I was shocked when I went shopping and fit into a size 4 for the first time in my life!   And, for the first time in my life, I went an entire year without getting sick!  That’s quite a feat for someone with asthma.  I have to say that my immune system is the strongest it’s ever been since taking Juice Plus+.  When I got pregnant, I insisted on taking Juice Plus+, rather then prenatal vitamins.  My doctor trusted my judgement and said it was fine.  Needless to say, my daughter is one of the healthiest children I know, rarely getting sick even when most of her class is.  Over the years, my daughter and I have continued to take Juice Plus+ and I am happy to see how many doctors now promote this product in their offices. 

Juice Plus+ is a whole food product, rather than a “vitamin.”  It is an easy and inexpensive way to add more nutrition from fruits and vegetables to your diet everyday.  The Orchard Blend is made from apple, orange, pineapple, cranberry, peach, acerola cherry, and papaya.  The Garden Blend is made from carrot, parsley, beet, kale, broccoli, cabbage, spinach, tomato, oat bran, and rice bran.  They come in capsules or gummies.  Gummies are great for kids and also for adults with digestive problems. 

One of the great things about Juice Plus+ is that they have been conducting a children’s health study for years to see how taking Juice Plus+ has affected children’s health. This study is led by Dr. William Sears, a pediatrician in Orange County, California and approximately 7 other physicians.  Results based on the first 100,000 participants show that after 4-8 months on Juice Plus+:

  •  56% of the children have been to the doctor less often
  • 49% report missing less school
  • 49% are taking less over-the-counter medication and/or fewer prescription drugs
  • Academic achievement and athletic participation are dramatically improved.
  • 45% report an improvement in image and self-esteem
  • 61% are drinking more water and 66% are consuming less fast food and drinking fewer soft drinks
  • 53% are eating more fruits and vegetables in addition to taking Juice Plus+

Adults in the study also showed similar improvements.  After doing this study for a number of years, they found that the longer the participants took Juice Plus+, the greater the benefits became.

Just to highlight the results, let me say that my daughter has been taking Juice Plus+ (and nothing else) since she was 2 years old.  She is 9 years old now and I can count on one hand how many times she’s been to the doctor for an illness.  She misses very little school, receiving the perfect attendance award every single year.  I truly believe that Juice Plus+ has been a contributing factor in her health.

For more information on the Juice Plus+ product, feel free to e-mail me at shannonmorgan@sbcglobal.net

April 1, 2010 - Posted by | Food, Health

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

