fitmommy

Shannon's health and fitness blog

Why I do what I do

I teach kids fitness classes at the local schools.  I do so because I see that this generation of kids are very unhealthy and will have many health problems early in life.  Many parents don’t cook and so these kids eat nothing but processed and fast food.  They get very little exercise, even if they play sports.  It’s important to me to teach kids how to live a healthier lifestyle.  This week, one of my students came up and told me that she has been reading her food labels (something I teach during class) and found that her Lunchables has too much sodium and a very long ingredient list.  She decided this food was too unhealthy for her to continue eating!  I was so ecstatic!  I didn’t think any of the kids ever listen when I teach nutrition.  I guess I was wrong!

In this same class, I have a very sweet girl who is quite overweight.  Her dad signed her up for the class and didn’t tell her because he knew she wouldn’t go for it.  She was so angry when she found out and didn’t want to participate.  I did get her to participate and she has worked hard every class.  This week she asked me when my next series of classes start because she wants to take it again!  I was so happy to know that I showed her that fitness can be fun.  This is why I do what I do.  If I only impact one child in every class, that’s one more person who will make healthier choices as they grow up.

April 15, 2010 - Posted by | Children

2 Comments »

  1. Good for you Shannon. More kids need to learn these things and get out and exercise, instead of sitting in front of the tv playing their games or just watching tv and snacking on junk food. I am very proud of you.

    Comment by Karen | April 16, 2010 | Reply

  2. Yay, Shannon! You gotta love those individual victories that make it all worthwhile. Congratulations! Thanks for doing what you do. It’s SO important!

    Comment by Lori Whalen | April 19, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

