fitmommy

Shannon's health and fitness blog

The Power of Yoga

Today I was fortunate enough to go to my favorite yoga class.  I have a few instructors I like, but this is my all-time fave

Geo has been in my life for over ten years and never ceases to amaze me!  Maybe it’s the way he starts our class.  While chimes and chanting can take my mind and focus it within, Geo’s choice of India Arie also takes me to another place.  Sensual and soulful, her rhythm and incredible voice provide the energy to get through this demanding class.

Yoga challenges my body more than any other form of exercise I do.  It builds strength, increases flexibility, and improves my state of mind.  I flow from one asana to another, muscles on fire, sweat dripping to the mat.  I take delight in how far I’ve come rehabilitating my knee, as I move easily into poses that were once impossible for me.  At the same time, I am reminded of my weaknesses and how much improvement is yet to come.  I know, given the opportunity to take this class weekly, my fitness level would improve tenfold. 

After endless vinyasas and some floor work, we move to the best part-savasana.  Geo’s  soothing voice takes the class through progressive relaxation that relaxes and calms the body and mind.  I easily fall into meditation (except when the guy next to me is snoring) and would happily lie here all day, if they let me.  I walk out feeling centered, and free of every ache pain and pain that I brought to class that day.  I still look ahead to the day when I can do this

 

and this

 

Until then, namaste

May 29, 2010 - Posted by | Mind-body awareness | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

