fitmommy

Shannon's health and fitness blog

My latest adventure

So today was my first day on a new cleansing program.  My friend, Kendra Cannoy, had done this cleanse a while back and convinced me to try it.  This cleanse is an anti-inflammatory, detox cleanse that allows 2 protein drinks and one meal throughout the day.  Meals must be free of dairy, soy, sugar, vinegar, alcohol, gluten, and coffee, soda, and diet drinks.  All meat must be unprocessed, antibiotic and hormone free, and grass fed.  I decided this would be fairly easy for me to accomplish because it comes very close to the way I eat now.  Many times I find myself mentioning to my clients the role food plays in the inflammatory process, but I don’t really have a method for others to follow.  I am trying this out in the hopes that it will be a cleanse that I can suggest for clients with constant pain, elevated cholesterol, high blood pressure, etc.  And because it is wheat and gluten free, it is perfect for the growing numbers of people who have celiac’s disease.

This cleanse comes with a protein powder that is rice and pea-based.  This is the first protein powder I have ever found that is dairy and soy free!  I can’t tell you how excited I was about that!  There is also a detox tea and liquid herbs to help detox the liver and remove excess fluids.

Surprisingly, I was not hungry at all today and I even ran for an hour in the morning.  The protein drinks are delicious and satisfying.  My legs did feel a bit heavy on my run, but I’m not sure if that was from the detox tea or from walking Disneyland all day yesterday!  Needless to say, by dinnertime (when I actually got to eat my food) I wasn’t too hungry and could not finish my dinner.

This cleanse is supposed to last for 28 days.  So far, I seem to be off to a good start!  I’ll keep you updated on my progress!

November 14, 2010 - Posted by | Food, Health | , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

