fitmommy

Shannon's health and fitness blog

Day 8 and all I can say is “WOW”

So I am at the end of day 8 of my cleanse and have been experiencing so many things, both physically and emotionally. I almost don’t know where to start.

Physically, I feel great and have really good energy.  I don’t weigh myself because the scale never changes much for me, but I can definitely tell that I’ve leaned out a bit.  My sugar cravings have completely disappeared.  I crave sugar every single day and have never had any cleanse get rid of that craving for me.  I usually satisfy my sweet tooth with fruit, but I haven’t even had a need for that!

I think what I’ve been most aware of, is how much better my knee feels.  About 5 years ago I was told that I needed full reconstructive surgery of my left knee.  I refused and have been rehabilitating it myself ever since.  At one time I could not bike, lift weights, or do yoga for an entire year (I could run though).  Now I can do all of those things but am limited to what I can do in the weight room for legs.  I always have some level of pain, just not anything like I did 5 years ago.  The past week, I have had less and less knee pain.  I typically run outdoors because treadmills cause me severe knee pain, both during and after.  However, today I ran for 40 minutes on a treadmill with not so much as a twinge in my knee and it has felt great all day long!  The anti-inflammatory diet is obviously working!

Interestingly enough, this cleanse has also had an emotional cleansing effect on me, as well.  I have spent the week going through alternating phases of depression and anger (which is very unusual for me).  Apparently, I had some underlying issues to rid myself of that I was not aware of.  I certainly didn’t expect this experience and it hasn’t been pleasant, however the emotional cleansing will probably be even more beneficial for me than all the rest.

Sticking with this program has not been challenging  for me at all.  I didn’t have to change much of the food I eat.  I typically eat at home, rather than going out because restaurants tend to load their food with excess salt and fat, they pile on the dairy products, and they serve way to much food.  I find it much easier to just cook at home.  However, I do like to eat out at occasionally.  I know I can easily eat at Mother’s Market and stay within my dietary guidelines.  This weekend I was going some where different and wanted to choose a restaurant that would allow me to stay as closely on this cleanse as possible.  I chose Outback steak house because I knew I couldn’t go wrong with steak and a vegetable.  I also ordered a salad (minus cheese and croutons) and was so happy to find out that I could get oil and apple cider vinegar on the side (regular vinegar is prohibited on this cleanse).  So while it can be challenging to eat out, it is not impossible.  It just takes some thought and asking the right questions 🙂

My next goal for this cleanse is to see if I can reduce my asthma medication.  Asthma, like many other health problems, is caused by inflammation.  This week I am going to cut my dosage in half and see whether I can stay symptom free on this diet.  Wish me luck!

November 21, 2010 - Posted by | Food, Health | , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

