fitmommy

Shannon's health and fitness blog

Day 16-stronger, leaner, healthier

Here I am at day 16 already and still can’t believe how good I feel!  Unlike most people who go on this cleanse, I only had to make a few changes to my normal eating regimen to adhere to this program.  For that reason, I really didn’t think I would see much of a difference.  Being the skeptic that I am, I chose not to test my body fat at the beginning of this journey because I doubted very much that it would make a difference.  Now I am kicking myself, because I can tell that I am leaning out and am surprised at the muscle mass I have been able to increase in just over two weeks.  It is a very noticeable difference!   It sure would have been nice to know my loss in fat/increase in lean muscle tissue over the course of 4 weeks.  Live and learn!

I encountered another interesting situation:  I tore my latissimus dorsi last Wednesday doing pull ups.  By Wednesday evening I was in a lot of pain.  I didn’t ice or take any meds.  The next day I noticed that it wasn’t hurting me anymore.  Upon palpation, I could feel the tear and it was sore at the site, but the pain through the rest of my muscle was gone and it didn’t hurt to use that muscle.  Two days after the injury, I lifted weights (including lat pulldowns) and had zero pain.  Now, I’m no spring chicken, and my body takes much longer to recover from injury than it used to.  I have never recovered this quickly.  Is it my anti-inflammatory diet?  I don’t know, but I’m willing to bet it is.

Best of all, it has done wonders for my state of mind-I have been happy, happy, happy 🙂

November 29, 2010 - Posted by | Food, Health | , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

