fitmommy

Shannon's health and fitness blog

Is wheat making you fat?

So I’ve blogged plenty about my 28 day cleanse which prohibits dairy, soy, gluten, sugar, vinegar, caffeine, and alcohol.  I finished my cleanse over a month ago and have tried to stick to the food requirements of the cleanse.  Sure, I’ve had a little feta cheese or frozen yogurt here and there, but I’ve tried to stay away from gluten because it really makes me tired.  I’m eating plenty of carbs, but no wheat.  And I’m still losing weight!  Everyday someone comments about how lean I’m looking and wants to know what I’m doing.  So I started wondering what the connection is between wheat/gluten and weight loss and decided to do some research.  This is what I found:

Wheat products cause your blood sugar to spike.  Even whole wheat bread will raise your blood sugar just as much as white bread does.  Why?  Because grinding grains into flour increases the surface area upon which enzymes work to more quickly convert starch into glucose.  When your blood sugar spikes, your body releases insulin, which signals the body to store fat.  Insulin also takes your blood sugar from a high to an extreme low resulting in hunger, cravings, and extreme fatigue.  Of course, we need insulin in our body, but if it is released too often it will make it hard to lose weight and harm your health.  Interestingly enough, I also found that there is a high correlation between Celiac’s disease (allergy or intolerance to wheat/gluten) and Type I diabetes.

Gluten free products are becoming quite popular lately.  While some are great choices, others contain a lot of sugar and fat.  So read your labels to be sure you are picking a healthy product!

The best choice for fat burning  is to eat whole grains, rather than ground up grains.  Grains like rice, spelt, millet, quinoa, and sprouted grain will not spike your blood sugar and actually help you lose weight.

 

January 14, 2011 - Posted by | Food, Health, Weight loss | , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

