fitmommy

Shannon's health and fitness blog

A Few of my New Favorite Snacks

In my quest to be gluten free I have been on the hunt for some very tasty gluten free foods.  All of these new goodies have been found at Mother’s Market.  If they don’t have one close to you, call them up and tell them to build one because they are one of the best health food stores around!

The first snack I came across were kickin’ kale krisps by Leaf Organics.  This was the first kale snack I have found that didn’t contain an ingredient that I’m allergic to.  I’m not sure how to describe the flavor of this delicious treat, but it is intense to say the least.  It is found in a brown paper bag in the gluten free section found in the front of the store.

Next, in the same section, I found Mary’s Gone Crackers Sticks and Twigs.  These gluten free pretzel sticks have just a hint of sea salt and can be very addictive.  Please note nutritional label states that just 8 of these treats have 5 grams of fat, so don’t overindulge!

There are two gluten free bread products I have found that my 10 year old gives two thumbs up to.  The first, Food for Life gluten free english muffins, she discovered at Grandma’s house.  She told me that they are better than any other english muffin she’s ever eaten, and I had to agree with her.  The second was Rudi’s gluten free multigrain sandwich bread.  I’m not much of a bread person, so I haven’t tried it.  However, the kiddo said it’s her new favorite bread so I’m guessing it’s pretty good!  Both of these items are found in the freezer section at Mother’s Market.

Last, but not least, while I was on my cleanse last year I discovered a dairy free, soy free, and gluten free energy bar called Larabar.  These bars have the shortest ingredient list I have ever seen, consisting of only fruits and nuts.  They are high in sugar but it is strictly sugar from the fruits, nothing added.  My only comment about this bar is, if you have any nut allergies, check the labels.  The flavor name doesn’t always reveal what’s in the bar and I had 2 incidents where I ate one with something I’m allergic to.

If you’re looking to add a few healthier snacks to your diet, I highly recommend all of these.  My daughter loves them all, so don’t be afraid to try them out on your kids as well!

January 24, 2011 - Posted by | Children, Food, Health | , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. So glad to see our Multigrain Bread made the list – or at least your daughter’s list of favorites!
    Thanks so much for the mention.

    Best,
    Dayna Davis
    On Behalf of Rudi’s Gluten-Free Bakery

    Comment by Dayna Davis | January 25, 2011 | Reply

  2. Thanks for making a gluten free bread that is tasty! That’s not easy to find, you know 🙂

    Comment by atcshan | January 25, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

