fitmommy

Shannon's health and fitness blog

Letting it go

10 years ago today at approximately 6:30am, I was training my first client of the day,  when we received word of what had happened in New York.  I called my parents, who were watching my 10 month old daughter, and told them to turn on the TV because our country was under attack.  That day is forever etched in my memory.  I was terrified, yet it was all so surreal.  This kind of thing didn’t happen in my lifetime.  This only happened in other countries, not in America.  That was for my grandparents generation. Hadn’t we moved past this kind of thing?  Now, 10 years later, I contemplate how that event has affected our nation and our people.

I consider myself to be a very accepting person.  I don’t believe in discrimination of any kind.  I know there are good people and there are bad people, and those qualities have nothing to do with a person’s gender, skin color, religion, or sexual preference.  We all feel the same pain, the same love, the same joy.  However, this summer I was returning from my trip to the Bahamas (thank you Arbonne for a great trip) and sitting in the airport in Nassau, waiting for my flight back to the States.  I looked around at the other passengers waiting for the same flight, when I caught sight of a man who looked so much like Osama Bin Laden, he could have been his brother.  He also wore the traditional turban on his head.  I will not lie.  Fear and anxiety bubbled to the surface.  Panic set in.  I wanted to tell the airlines that they couldn’t let this man on my flight, that I had a daughter waiting for me to come home.  The fact that his wife (who walked confidently at his side) and baby were with him did nothing to appease me.  I was embarrassed of my reaction.  I knew this was just another family going home after enjoying their vacation, just like me, yet I could not get past my fear.  10 years later we are still scared.  Many are angry. Unfortunately, anger makes you weak.  Ask anyone who has been in a relationship that is filled with anger.  That relationship (and the people in it) just continues to weaken until it breaks apart.

I am amazed to see people arguing on facebook as to whether we should remember this day and the people who perished or whether we should just move on and stop focusing on the negative.  Why can’t we do both?  One thing holds true-remember the past and learn.  Those who forget continue to make the same deadly mistakes.  However, remembering and paying tribute to the victims and the heroes does not mean we can’t move forward.  We will only move forward if we can find a way to let go of the anger.  We must never forget and continue to protect our freedoms, but our country will only grow stronger if we remove the hate from our hearts and put our energies into making this great nation even greater.

September 11, 2011 - Posted by | Mind-body awareness | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

