fitmommy

Shannon's health and fitness blog

A Very Happy Anniversary!

At the moment, I am reading “Younger Next Year:  Live Strong,, Fit, and Sexy Until You’re 80 and Beyond.”  This book was recommended to me by one of my clients, not because he thought I would learn something, but because he thought I would be interested in a book that talks about everything I try to teach my clients (and anyone else who will listen to me).  All those tidbits of information about how much we should be exercising, what we should be eating (or not eating), and the role inflammation plays in our health.   I love this book, not just because it embodies everything I believe in, but also because the authors make it funny, easy to read, and motivating.

So what does this have to do with my anniversary, you ask?  Well, November officially marks one year since I incorporated the 28 Days to Health program into my life.  When I started this program I had no idea how much it would change my life.  I had known for a number of years about the role food plays in our health and it’s effect on inflammation in the body.  This was the first time I had found a program that was designed to reduce inflammation by teaching people what to eat.  I decided to try it for myself just to see what it was all about but I honestly didn’t think I would get much out of it personally.  My food intake was almost identical to that of the program, I really only needed to change a few small things.  How much difference could that possibly make, right?  Wrong, I was so wrong.  I learned so much about how what I was eating was affecting my body, my health, my energy levels, and my emotions.  It was an eye opener!   Within one month, I knew I had to teach this program so that I could help others towards better health and educate as many people as possible about the toxicity of our food supply.

One year later, I am pain free, healthier than I have been in years, and happy.  I am stronger and faster than I’ve been in at least 7 years.  Every week my running times get a little bit faster.  A few days ago, a friend told me that she had seen me out running and how strong I looked and with great form.  What an improvement from a few years ago when friends were telling me that limping while I run is probably a good sign to stop running and try something different!!!  And this week, I was able to run three times in one week without pain.  The last time I could do that without crippling myself was about 7 years ago. I’m 42, BUT I feel 25!   I feel good, I look healthy, and I get the added bonus of helping others improve the quality of their lives!   28 Days to Health has not only made me younger in one year, it has made me about 7 years younger in one year!

Oh, and I can’t forget to add that I got a free trip to the Bahamas this summer, just for helping others!  Life doesn’t get any better than this !  A very Happy Anniversary to me 🙂

November 28, 2011 - Posted by | Exercise, Food, Health, Mind-body awareness | , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Woohoo! So great to heard your story after one year of working together. This re-motivates me for sure. Thanks Shannon.

    Comment by Kendra Cannoy | November 28, 2011 | Reply

  2. Hello Shannon, and congrats on the vacation you look like you are relaxing to the fullest, and you deserve it. Also Happy Anniversary and I look forward to the great knowledge that you continue to share with all of us, thanks for putting your knowledge to work to help others.

    Comment by Darrin Boatman | November 29, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

