fitmommy

Shannon's health and fitness blog

Happy 2012!

I don’t know about you, but I am more than happy to show 2011 the door. This has been a difficult year, to say the least.  I am looking forward to the New Year and the opportunities it will bring.  I don’t usually make resolutions, but this year I feel so positive about what is on the horizon, I decided to set some new goals for my self.

I have spent the past 11 years raising my daughter alone, and because I refuse to let someone else raise her, I have felt that I could not expand my career.  This year, I feel it’s the right time to move in new directions.  Of course, I still want to keep doing what I do now, but I’m keeping my eyes wide open for opportunities in management, or maybe teaching a few college classes.  I’m not sure yet where 2012 will take me, but I am excited for new ventures!

I would like to blog more.  Originally, I started blogging to work on my writing skills, but found (to my amazement!) that so many people enjoyed my posts and implemented many new health strategies into their lives based on what I wrote.  It’s so hard to find the time, but my new goal for 2012 is to blog three times a week.  Please feel free to remind me if you see me straying  🙂

I know this will surprise some of you, but I would like to consume less caffeine.  Yes, that’s right, I am a caffeine addict.  Which leads to my next resolution: Get more sleep.  If I get more sleep, I won’t need as much caffeine, right?  I’d like to think so, but I’ve spent my life on asthma medications, drugs that have kept my heart rate elevated and my nervous system buzzing.  Now that I take a fraction of the medication I used to, I supplement that feeling with caffeine.   Personally, I think this will be the most difficult of all 🙂

Last, but certainly not least, I would like to do more yoga.  I say this every year, but, considering the classes I take are during my work hours, the only way to make this happen is to do it in my living room.  That’s just not as much fun, nor does it challenge me the way a class full of sweaty bodies does.

These are just a few of my goals for 2012.  Tell me, what are yours?

December 30, 2011 - Posted by | Health, Holidays | , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. I’m right there with you on the caffeine consumption. I know I need to cut down but god I love coffee so much. It’s turned into a psychological thing now too. Even once I get past caffeine withdrawals I still crave a hot cup of coffee in my hand when I’m eating breakfast or sitting at work just because it feels right. Good luck!

    Comment by wakeupami | December 30, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

