fitmommy

Shannon's health and fitness blog

How to Maintain Your Strong Muscles

Today I attended a self myofascial release (SMR) class taught by Jeff Alexander.  SMR is the process of applying pressure to muscular knots with balls or rollers to release tension in the muscle.  It is similar to giving yourself a deep tissue massage.  I have been using foam rollers for a number of years now to release tension in my quads, hamstrings, IT band, calves, and back.  It is quite effective and I recommend it to most of my clientele.  In this class I learned even better and more effective methods to release the tension in my quads, inner thighs,  hips, calves, lower back, rhomboids, rotator cuff, and chest.  My favorite was the adductor release.  My inner thighs are always incredibly tight from all the running I do and this is the first time I have ever been able to use the  roller to loosen this area up.  It was all incredibly painful, but sooo effective!  My body feels awesome and I can’t wait to see how much better I feel when I go for my run tomorrow. 

It doesn’t matter whether you work out regularly or sit at a desk all day (or both!), you need to do reparative work on your body on a regular basis in order to stay healthy and pain free.  For more information on Jeff’s incredible workshops, go to Network Fitness SMR Blog. How to Maintain Your Strong Muscles.

March 27, 2010 - Posted by | Physical therapy

No comments yet.

Leave a comment